There have been a number of changes made by the Indian government regarding the different types of visas that are available. There are a number of restrictions that have to be understood in regard to the visas that are available to ensure the right one is sought. When applying for a visa for travel to India, understanding the different types will help ensure the right on is acquired. While getting a passport name change, one must ensure that the spelling of the name is accurate to the alphabet as the same name will showcase on the visa.

The Tourist Visa

The Tourist Visa in India is issues to individuals who want to visit India to see friends or to visit all the sights and attractions. While a tourist visa can be given for a period over six months based on the nationality of the visitor, people cannot remain in the country for a period over six months at the same time. This change came about back in 2009 in an effort to minimize the misuse of Indian tourist visas.

X (Entry) Visa

The X visa is used for those who did not clearly follow into other visa applicant categories. An example of someone who would need this visa is a volunteer. However, with rule changes that occurred back in 2010, the following people are the only ones who can receive the X visa:

Employment Visa

These are issues to foreigners who are going to be working in India for an organization that is registered in India. Foreigners who are doing intern or volunteer work in India will not be given an employment visas, rather than the X visa, which was provided in the past. These are typically issued for a period of one year, or the term of the contract that the worker has. They are also able to be extended in India.

Student Visa

This type of visa is given to those who wish to visit India to study at one of the approved educational institutions. This includes to study the Indian system of music and dance, Vedic culture or yoga. The primary document needed for this is the registration or admission papers for the institution. The student visa can be issued for a period of up to five years, which is typically based on the course duration.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *